After the Tumor

I had another surgery to put in a “Aphoresis Line”. An Aphoresis line is a central line that goes in my chest to my neck and then to my heart so I can get blood and medicines and take blood for testing. I don’t have to have IV’s. IVs really, really hurt when they get put in. After I had it put in, my throat hurt when I swallowed. After a few days I felt better.

After the line was put in I had to start Chemo. Chemo made me sick on the second day. I was barfing every 20 minutes. It was pretty bad. But it was high dose chemo, and they are going to start low dose chemo next, and that won’t be as bad so I probably won’t barf.

I’ll have to go to radiation after chemo every day. Today I had to have my mask fitted on me. I had to have a mask because I couldn’t move, I have to be in the exact place for the radiation to CRUSH the cancer. They had to put markings on my stomach and sides with permanent markers because they had to have the laser lined up in the same place it was the first time, every time. And when I had my mask fitted, it was really sticky when they put it on. It might not be too fun because I’ll have to be in the room alone. It’s gonna be fun ’cause I’ll get to jam to some tunes. It only goes for 5 minutes which isn’t enough to listen to 2 songs.

I have to have a growth hormone every night at home this week that makes my stem cells grow. Stem cells are cells that can turn into any good cell, and there is a pump that gives me a medicine to make them grow. Then they are gonna take out my stem cells and then give them back to me when I’m done with chemo and radiation, cause the radiation and chemo might kill some good cells.

Cancer treatment is going to be like seven weeks. I thought it was gonna be not so fun cause I thought I’ll probably barf a lot. But the Nurse Practitioner and Nurse were talking about how to give me the right medicines for the right job to not make me barf more. I’ll tell you how I feel when I do it. But not right now. I gotta go play with Noni.

6 thoughts on “After the Tumor

  1. Cade, you really do rock! Lots of people you don’t even know (like me) are thinking about you and praying. I’m a friend of your dad’s parents, by the way. My son went through some very tough medical problems also and I learned how strong kids are. Keep being awesome Cade!
    P.S. I love camping too!

  2. Hi Cade! It sounds like you have been so strong the last couple of weeks! I am so glad to hear that your tumor is out and that the nurses are trying to help you feel better, and hopefully not barf! Keep fighting and smiling! Hope to see you soon. Miss you bunches! -Ms. Jody 🙂

  3. Dear Cade, who’s Noni? I hope you feel better. I had fun seeing you yesterday. you are an awesome friend. I cant wait to see you again. you rock! From Bella.

  4. Cade , it was so great to see you today. You are such an amazing kid. You better practice some skip bo ….I’m going to challenge you in a game next time I see you. 🙂 you rock little man!!
    Ms. Jenny

Leave a comment